I am the Master… of Arts!

Yesterday I recieved my Ma certificate for my Masters in Museum Sudies from the University of Leicester! 

I just wanted to take a moment to be proud of myself. I worked really hard to achieve something I had wanted since college. Little 17 year old Izzy planned on doing a Masters even then and now I’m 24 and finally have the certificate! 

I took my course as a part time distance learning course which was really weird. Every three months I got a parcel of books delivered and instructions on what assignments needed to be completed and I was left alone to get on with it. I didn’t ever go to the University or speak to anyone on the course really which was completely different from my undergrad experience where I’d just shuffle next door to my roommate and we’d moan together about our assignments.

 For the first year I worked full time and spent my evenings and weekends studying (or feeling guilty for not studying) which was pretty tough. I had to use my holiday to take time off during deadlines and got sick every time I had an assignment as I would get so stressed out! The second year I ended up getting a part time job so I could focus on my dissertation which was tough for different reasons. I managed to finish with Merit and produce work that I was proud of even when it was hard to concentrate and I had other stuff going on. At the time I was getting fed up with it and just wanted it to be finished already so didn’t do much to celebrating after finishing the course.

So I just wanted to take a minute to be proud of myself and what I have achieved so far instead of always looking forward to the next goal I want to complete.

 Its important to take time to appreciate how far you’ve come and how hard you’ve worked, however big or small your achievement is. A bit of reflection is good for the soul! I also wouldn’t have been able to do it without the encouragement and investment of my parents, grandparents and Dan (he put up with A LOT of bad moods and basically funded my life for the last 9 months of the course) I cant thank them enough. 

I am a pretty content lady right now!

Let me know your recent achievements – celebrate each other! 

Until next time!

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Congratulations are definitely in order! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats!!! That’s a major milestone! I love the contentment that comes with this post. 🙌🏾

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

